Turning Alkaline

My journey through food and nutrition to better health.

Cleanse – Day 3 – Mixed Vegetable Curry Soup

Back to work on a cleanse is definitely one of the hardest parts of the cleaning detox challenge – trying to explain to your co-workers why you don’t want to eat their treats they bring to work is not easy.

To paint a more detailed picture, I live and work in South Korea where there is no such thing as vegetarianism let alone vegan-ism. “What? You don’t eat eggs or milk either?  What do you get your protein from? You will get sick!”.  Also, processed meat is not classed as meat and neither is fish.  “No Susan, you CAN eat this meal.  There are only vegetables with Spam and clams in this. It’s good for your circulation”, is the response I often get when I don’t eat their food. Of course, I just smile it off and tell them it looks very delicious then continue to go about munching on my raw veggies.  Ah the joys.

Breakfast

So back to work it is, but I was prepared.  A quick smoothie of pea protein powder with mango, banana, antioxidant berry powder with a shot of chlorophyll definitely kicked my day off to a good start.  As you can see, I haven’t uploaded a photo.  The truth is, it didn’t taste too great, but it did do the trick and kept me full and topped up with energy untill 12pm.  A good 5 hours. Not bad.

Lunch

Lunch? Well, preparing your own lunch when you work in an Elementary School will make you an outcast.  I’m already a vegan foreigner.  So, I braved it, and ate what they ate, except for the meat.  Actually, on a positive note, the school dinners are a million times better than those served in the west.  The food, I’m told is locally grown and often organic.  It is fresh and the vegetables are very delicious.  So, here’s what I had – a small portion of fermented salad, 5 sticks of cucumber, 5 sticks of an orange bell pepper, roughly 2 Tbsp of wild rice, quarter of a red apple and a small sweet potato.

Dinner

Dinner, was just as equally uneventful.  I was tired and starving.  I possibly shouldn’t have eaten the potato at lunch.  I felt the crash in my sugar levels only two hours later.  No matter how much herbal tea I drank, I couldn’t get rid of my hunger pangs.  Light headed and shaky, I made it home and threw together a mixed vegetable curry soup.  It looks like baby food, but it tasted awesome.  Well, I think contents of my compost bin would taste good the way I was feeling.  Actually, they do look fairly similar 😛

I should have taken a ‘before it was blended’ photo.  It did look like a very appetising curry.  BUT, I was just too hungry to mess about.  If I did try, I’d probably have dropped the camera in it from being so hungry.

Image

Ingredients (makes 6 portions)

Half Kabocha Pumpkin (steamed)

1 carrot

1 red bell pepper

Juice from 1/2 lemon

1 Tbsp coconut oil

1 cup of coconut milk

1 can chopped tomatoes

5 leaves kale

1/2 red onion

2 large green unions

5 cloves of garlic

1 tsp fennel seeds

1 1/2 tsp cumin powder

Tbsp turmeric powder

Tbsp mild curry powder

1 tsp Himalayan salt

1/2 tsp ground pepper

Method

  1. Chop all vegetables
  2. Steam the pumpkin
  3. saute onion until soft
  4. add garlic, pepper, green onion, spices
     then cook for 4 mins.
  5. Add the tomatoes with a cup of water then add the coconut milk
  6. add the steamed pumpkin
  7. cook for 5 minutes.
  8. Scoop out a portion to blend then serve. 
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

Goodreads

