Turning Alkaline

My journey through food and nutrition to better health.

5 day cleanse

Over the next five days I will document my progresses through a simple five day cleanse comprised of mainly organic produce and few supplements.

The basic rules are to have a juice or a smoothie for breakfast then for lunch have a solid meal and finally for dinner have another juice, smoothie or soup.

Why only 5 days? Well, I’d like to set my self short realistic goals in the hope that after 5 days I’ll want to continue for another 5 and so on until I feel that my body is clean from most of the toxins that have built up from too much abuse over the years.

Prior to this cleanse I have made the slow transition into an almost vegan diet; cutting out cheese, dairy, eggs, meat and fish. I have also cut down on sugar, caffeine and all heavily processed foods.

Prepping my body in this way, eliminating acid forming foods, will hopefully ward off any cravings during the cleanse and also help me avoid headaches from going cold turkey on things like caffeine and chocolate.  Not drinking green tea and 75% chocolate is possibly the most \taxing challenge for me :P. However, I am determined to make this work.

Primarily eating plants over the past 5 months has opened new doors in terms of food choices, for me.  I’m now cooking with ingredients that I never new existed such as chia seeds, quinoa, millet and maca root, which are packed full of essential nutrients and cancer preventing properties.  All of which, I intend to incorporate into this cleanse so my body isn’t missing out on what it needs most.

From the amazing and in depth guidance I have received from reading Dr Alejandro Junger’s bestselling book, Clean: The Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body’s Natural Ability to Heal Itself, I feel more than ready in body and mind to tackle this cleanse head on.

During this cleanse, I intend to follow many of Dr Junger’s guidelines for goals to follow, which include:

  1. Eat clean: eat organic food, nothing processed, 51% raw, avoid chemicals, buy food at your local farmers’ market.
  2. Fast every night for 12 hours.
  3. Keep blood and inner environment alkaline (measure pH levels in urine and saliva daily)
  4. Excercise
  5. Meditate
  6. Do stretching, yoga/Pilates
  7. Express creativity
  8. Rest and sleep
  9. Spend time with loved ones
  10. Establish a custom-tailored supplement regimen.
  11. Read and learn about health and wellness regularly.

So, here goes! wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Goodreads

